Shortbread

Hello world!

So today is Thursday, which means another recipe! Now, what I was hoping was every time it came around to Thursday, I could find a recipe, or visit something old, make it, and let you know how it went…

Today however, I slept in very late (was up watching Supernatural last nigt) and this afternoon went to the charming town of St Rémy for some more present shopping; the upside, I finished all my shopping! the downside… I didn’t get to make anything.

So, I’m sorry… But here is a shortbread recipe which I found last week and have made twice since, it’s really easy and personally I LOVE it! (The rest of the family and everyone who had some enjoyed it too)

Shortbread:

Preparation Time: 15mins

Chill Time: 20 mins

Cooking Time: 15-20mins

Yield: About 15-20 pieces, depending on personal choice

Ingredients:

  • 125g unsalted butter
  • 55g sugar
  • 180g flour

Method:

  • Cream the butter and sugar (that just means beat until it’s light and fluffy)
  • Stir in flour
  • Roll to 1cm, cut/make whatever shapes you wish
  • Place in fridge (or a cold spot) for about 20mins to chill, at this time you can preheat the oven to 190°C (374°F for you Americans)
  • Bake for 15-20 mins until lightly golden

Notes: Don’t get your measurements wrong! If it is too flour-y it will be too crumbly to roll

For my firt batch I dipped half of each shortbread in melted chocolate (with a tiny bit of butter mixed in) I found it very pleasing to the palette… And by that I mean, who doesn’t love chocolate!

You can also sprinkle with 100’s and 1000’s after dipping, you can also do a million other things to decorate – the great thing about shortbread is it’s versitility, and I absolutely love it!

And with that, I’m off to bed,

Night all,

Vine

Leave a Reply

